Anniversary Dinner

No cooking for me today. Although I love to cook, I also love the restaurant where we got engaged. Today is our 20th wedding anniversary and we celebrated at the The Earle. The key to their food is the elegant simplicity, it has been another inspiration for my cooking over the years. Our favorite appetizer is the roasted garlic, even though I make it myself now I rememer the first time I had it when I was so amazed that roasting garlic could change the taste so much.

They serve it with a Kalamata olive puree, avocados, goat cheese, and sun dried tomatoes with crostini and mixed greens. The wine you see in the back was an anniversary treat, a white Chateauneuf du Pape.

Our meals tonight were delicious as usual, although tempted as usual by their duck breast I elected to have the pesto stuffed salmon and my husband had the veal scallops with garlic and mushrooms.

 Both were divine. Dessert wrapped up the meal, an apple tartin in warm cream; unfortunately it smelled so good that we forgot to take a picture, but I suspect that there will soon be a recreation here with apple season upon us.

Leave a Reply

