Braised Chicken

Thank goodness I decided not to forego this recipe just because I left the chicken in the freezer. After I discovered my error on Wednesday, I put the frozen chicken in the fridge and headed off for sushi. Although I considered another recipe for Friday, I really enjoy bone-in chicken and capers so I decided to move the dinner to Friday. I also had the fresh zucchini that I wanted to serve with it, and I had no interest in letting that go bad. 

With two active teenagers in the house there is rarely a free evening and Fridays are no exception. When I got home at five, I immediately got out my ingredients and after peeling the onion, I tossed it in the food processor to mince it. I then grabbed my cast iron skillet … (Quick comment: I love my cast iron skillets. Yes plural, I have 3! Critical for every cook is a least one, with about a 15″ diameter. Treat it correctly and you will be able to hand it down to future cooks.) … While the onion cooked I separated the chicken thighs and seasoned them with salt and pepper. When the onion is done and out of the skillet make sure to put the chicken in a single layer, starting skin side down; don’t move them too early, the skin will release easily from the bottome of the pan when it’s brown. 

I served it with a white rice, which I cooked briefly with a bit of olive oil and two cloves of minced garlic before I started to “sort of” follow the instructions on the package. I swapped the water for chicken broth and omitted the salt, but I kept the ratios the same. Ideally it would have been good to start this with about 35 minutes left on the chicken, but with karate on the schedule I simply left a timer set on the chicken so that my husband could turn it off. When I got back, I started the rice (as described) immediately, and then sliced the zucchini and yellow squash very thick, ~¾”. I brushed them with olive oil, salted and peppered them and put them on a sheet to broil. After I took the rice off of the heat (about 10 minutes left) I put the rolls in my small convection oven, turned the chicken back on to medium low, and then with 5 minutes left before the rice was ready to serve I broiled the zucchini. 

It came together exactly as I was hoping and would only be improved by skipping the delay.

   
 Braised Chicken with Capers and Parsley

prep 15 mins ∙ cook 1 hr 40 mins ∙ Serves 4-6 ∙ source Bon Appétit | September 2012
INGREDIENTS

  • 4 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1 large onion, minced
  • 6 chicken thighs separated (about 2 pounds)
  • Kosher salt
  • pepper, freshly ground
  • ½ cup flat leaf parsley, minced, plus more for garnish
  • ⅓ cup capers
  • 2 cups low-salt chicken broth
  • ⅓ cups white wine vinegar

DIRECTIONS

Heat 2 Tbsp. oil in a large oven-safe skillet over medium heat. Add onion; cook, stirring often, until softened, about 8 minutes. Transfer onion to a bowl.

Add 2 Tbsp. oil to skillet and increase heat to medium-high. Season chicken with salt and pepper. Add chicken to skillet and cook, turning once, until golden brown on both sides, 10–12 minutes. Transfer chicken to a plate and drain excess fat from skillet.

Return onion to the skillet, with parsley and capers; cook for 1 minute. Stir in broth and vinegar. Place chicken on the top, skin side up and return any juices to the skillet. Reduce heat to medium-low; cover and simmer until meat is tender and falling off the bone, about 1 hour 15 minutes.

Transfer chicken to a large platter. Serve with rice and sauce. Spoon sauce over chicken and rice; garnish with parsley.

Leave a Reply

