Busy Week

So I was really excited this week, I was going to post about the meals I had planned which included 3 favorites. This week had other plans for me though, I had to attend a dinner for work, winter soccer practice started this week, my eldest forgot his cleats at home one day, my husband had a late work meeting, and I had a parent meeting to attend for my younger son’s lacrosse. Whew.

Fortunately, this is part of why I plan, when something changes, I already have all the ingredients available for the entire menu and I can switch it up to fit the new plan. Last Saturday in addition to braising the short ribs, I made burgers for dinner and had a few left over. Along with my Sunday cooking I made the filling for Buffalo Chicken Grilled Cheese Sandwiches. I got this recipe a few years ago from my good friend Dawn; it’s great for any busy week, because you can make it in advance and anyone who can put together a grilled cheese can cook it. I thought we would have these on Monday because  we all eat at different times, but with me not home, my husband and eldest opted for the burgers and this got moved to Wednesday. I put the pork shoulder for the Chili Verde in the freezer and moved on.

By Monday, I knew how the week was shaping up, so the minute I got home, I set to work on Oliver Clark’s Meat Loaf for dinner on Thursday. Last Thanksgiving, I received a cookbook from my friend Jan; she and her family joined us for the meal. Cookbook, is an understatement for the book, Essential New York Times Cookbook, by Amanda Hesser, 2010, there are no pictures but the stories and writing within are beautiful and the recipes (which I have tried so far) are wonderful. This is one of those recipes, it is found on page 554; the only substitution I made was to use baby bella mushrooms, otherwise, don’t change a thing the flavor is perfect. When I was recently married, I made a meatloaf that was primarily ground beef and a box of Stove Top, this puts that to shame. Yes it is more work, it took me 30 minutes to put it all together instead of 5. The time you put in is a noticible difference. I separated the beef mixure into two loaf pans and  froze half. I put the other half in the fridge wrapped in foil until Thursday when I put it on a rimmed cookie sheet and baked as directed.


Just before dinner I quickly sautéed the remaining mushrooms and French beans in the pan I used for the bacon.

Buffalo Chicken Grilled Cheese Sandwich

cook 10 minutes ∙ makes 4 servings ∙ difficulty Easy ∙ source Dawn
INGREDIENTS

  • 8 slices French bread, sliced ¼” thick
  • 6 ounces cream cheese
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese, shredded
  • ¾ cup blue cheese crumbled (optional – can replace with ¼ cup ranch dressing)
  • 2 cups rotisserie chicken, shredded
  • ¼ cup mayonnaise
  • ⅛ cup onion, minced
  • ¼ cup celery, minced
  • 5 Tbsp buffalo wing sauce (such as Frank’s red hot sauce)
  • Soft butter or margarine

DIRECTIONS

In a mixing bowl, whip the cream cheese until smooth and creamy, scraping the sides of the bowl once or twice. Add the cheddar cheese and mix well, then fold in the blue cheese. Mix in the remaining ingredients.

Prepare bread as you would for grilled cheese sandwiches, buttering the outside. Spread this mixture on top of four of the prepared slices and top with the remaining four slices.

Heat a large sauté pan or griddle over medium-low heat. Add the sandwiches and toast each side until golden brown, about 5-8 minutes. Serve.
Oliver Clark’s Meat Loaf
source: Essential New York Times Cookbook | Amanda Hesser | 2010 – page 554

INGREDIENTS

  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 2 medium onions, finely chopped
  • salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1½ large portobello mushrooms caps, finely chopped
  • 1 green pepper, cored, seeded, and finely chopped
  • 2 lbs. ground beef
  • 1 lb. ground pork or sausage
  • 1 cup bread crumbs
  • ½ tsp. onion powder
  • 1 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • ½ tsp. Cajun seasoning
  • ⅓ cup Parmesan cheese, freshly grated
  • ¼ cup ketchup
  • 1 tbsp. mayonnaise
  • 2 tbsp. whipped cream cheese
  • 3 large eggs
  • ½ lb. bacon

DIRECTIONS

1. Heat the oven to 350 degrees. Sauté the garlic and onions in 2 tablespoons of oil in a large skillet until the garlic is golden and the onions are translucent. Remove to a bowl. Add a dash of saalt and pepper: it’s important to season well here. (SMS Note: It’s more than a dash, season well.)

2. Place all the remaining ingredients except the eggs and bacon in a bowl. Paw at it with two forks, combining thoroughly but not overmixing. Mix in the eggs and the onions and garlic. Scrape the mixture into a large baking dish and shape into a loaf about 4 inches wide and 3 inches high.

3. Bake for 50-60 minutes.

4. Meanwhile, midway through the baking time, sauté the bacon in a large skillet over medium heat until pale, limp, and partially rendered, about 5 minutes. Adorn the meat loaf with it and finish cooking.

NOTES

Trust the time in the recipe so as not to overcook. Can be prepared in advance; allow to sit at room temp for an hour, if possible, before baking if prepared in advance.

Leave a Reply

