Steak and Mushrooms

There are few better combinations than steak and mushrooms. On Sunday a recipe caught my eye, but it wasn’t quite right. I put it on the menu anyway and sent my husband to the store for steak; the recipe called for hangar, so that’s what I told him to ask for (knowing that it was unlikely) and told him to accept whatever they suggested. He came home with a 1½ pound skirt steak and some thin green beans. Meanwhile I picked up packages of mushrooms, a mix with shiitake, cremini, and oyster. 

Today, I got out the steak when I got home and let it rest on the counter. Eventually I trimmed up the skirt steak, cut it into 4 pieces, and pounded it to make sure it was all the same thickness (~½”). I then rinsed and trimmed up the mushrooms and coarsely chopped them. I sautéed the mushrooms in olive oil until they were golden and set them aside. In the same pan I added a bit of butter 2 sprigs of rosemary and 4 smashed garlic cloves and the steak. 

  
  
Once I had the steak medium rare, I removed it from the pan, loosely covered it with foil and then deglazed the pan with red wine, after reducing it slightly I added in beef broth and continued reducing until it was about ½ cup remaining. I turned of the heat, stirred in more butter, oregano, and the mushrooms. 

While I was reducing, I also sautéed/steamed the green beans with thinly sliced shallots and a bit of salt and pepper. Just prior to serving I sliced the skirt steak.  

    
 
Dinner served at 7:30. Delish. Nothing better than steak and mushrooms.

  
Hanger Steak with Mushrooms and Red Wine Sauce

prep 10 mins ∙ cook 20 mins ∙ makes 4 servings ∙ difficulty Easy
INGREDIENTS

  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
  • 12 ounces assorted mushrooms, torn or cut into large pieces
  • kosher salt
  • Black pepper, freshly ground
  • 4 tablespoons butter, divided
  • 1½ pound hanger or skirt steak, trimmed, pounded to ½” thickness
  • 4 garlic cloves, smashed
  • 2 6″ sprigs rosemary
  • 1 cup dry red wine
  • ¾ cup beef stock
  • ½ tsp. oregano

DIRECTIONS

1. Heat 2 tablespoons oil in a large heavy skillet over medium-high heat. Add mushrooms; cook, stirring occasionally, until soft and golden, about 10 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Transfer to a bowl; set aside.

2. Melt 1 tablespoon butter with remaining 1 tablespoon oil in same skillet over medium heat. Season steak with salt and cracked pepper. Add steak, garlic, and rosemary to skillet. Cook about 3 minutes per side for medium-rare. Transfer to a cutting board. Let rest while preparing sauce.

3. Discard garlic and rosemary from skillet. Pour off all but 1 tablespoon fat. Add wine; cook, stirring up bits, until reduced to ¾ cup. Stir in stock; bring to a boil. Simmer until reduced to ½ cup, about 5 minutes. Remove from heat; Whisk in 3 tablespoons butter. Stir in mushrooms and oregano.

4. Thinly slice steak; serve with mushrooms.

Leave a Reply

