Chili Verde

OK, I suck, I forgot to take pictues, again.

This recipe however is deserving of a post. I considered making this a couple of weeks ago; the way our schedules worked I put the shoulder roast in the freezer and moved on. Considering this week (busy, cold, windy, and rainy) I pulled it out of the freezer on Sunday and planned it for today. Last night, I cut it up; based on our prefereces I removed as much fat as I could and then tossed it into the crock pot with the other ingredients (not the rice, sour cream, or cilantro) and simply put the insert in the fridge. This morning was easy, I put the insert in the crock pot and set it for 7½ hours. My crock pot switches to warm when the time is up.

For reference, I use jalapeños, but it is good with chilis too, I prefer the heat this way. And the family was split this evening, I did make rice and two of us served it over rice in a soup bowl; sour cream, cheese, cilantro, and cholula are all good toppings. The other two of us used it as a filling for burritos: a large spoonful of pork down the center of a warmed flour tortilla, top with rice, shredded cheese, and cholula, (I also had some sautéed peppers and onions leftover which made it in) then fold in both sides and roll up into a burrito, and finish by searing an a dry skillet. They had their sour cream on the side.

I have some leftovers, I foresee this in a breakfast burrito this weekend.

Chili Verde

Cook 3½ – 8 hours ∙ Makes 6-8 servings ∙ Difficulty Easy
INGREDIENTS

  • 8 ounces roasted diced green chilies (or jalapeños), canned, with their liquid
  • 3 pounds boneless pork shoulder, cut into 1″ cubes
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1½ tsp salt, plus more, to taste
  • ½ tsp white pepper, plus more, to taste
  • rice, White or Mexican, for serving
  • ¾ cup sour cream
  • ½ cup cilantro, freshly chopped

DIRECTIONS

Put the chilies and their liquid in a slow cooker. Stir in the pork, broth, garlic, oregano, salt, and white pepper. Cover and cook on high for 3½-4 hours or on low for 7-8 hours.

Taste and adjust the seasonings with salt and white pepper. (Note: I also break apart the chunks of meat with my Pampered Chef Mix ‘n Chop – not trying to sell it, it’s just a favorite tool.) Ladle the stew over rice and serve immediately, passing the sour cream and cilantro at the table. Serves 6 to 8.

Leave a Reply

