Pumpkin Pie

For those of you who do not know me personally, I do work full time and both my boys are in sports. The last couple of weeks have been pretty hectic both peronsally at work and with new seasons starting up which added a number of weekly obligations. My blog has obviously suffered. 

I however wanted to share this recipe before the Thanksgiving holiday: Pumpkin Pie. It is not always the best item on any table, but it can be. 

The recipe I make is my mother and it starts in advance. Over the weekend I baked the pumpkin, I had 3, but you only need one pie pumpkin. I always use a sugar pumpkin (these are the small ones about  6-8″ diameter), but I have heard of people using other types and I’m sure they would work as well. 

To prepare the pumpkin, cut half, scoop out seeds, and bake for 1½ hours at 350. 

   
 
 When cool, scoop out flesh and press in applesauce or tomato press. I use a tomato press, and the goal is to remove the stringiness from the pumpkin, so everything that comes out the seed chute goes back in the top until it’s all been pressed.

 
At this point the pumpkin can be kept for a week in the fridge, frozen, or canned. The pumpkin pies are my typical Tuesday before Thanksgiving activity, but my mother is bringing it this year so here are her pictures from a previous Thanksgiving:

   
 Pumpkin Pie
Prep 15 mins ∙ Cook 1 hr ∙ Makes 1 pie ∙ Difficulty Easy ∙ Source Mary Jo Sharp

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 1½ cup pumpkin
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • ½ tsp. ginger
  • ¼ tsp. cloves
  • 12 ounces evaporated milk
  • 1 unbaked pie shell

DIRECTIONS

Mix filling ingredientss in order. Pour into an unbaked pie shell and bake in a preheated oven (425°F) for 15 minutes. Reduce the heat to 350°F and continue baking for 45 minutes or until a knife in the center comes out clean.

My basic pie crust recipe is here: The Stacey Bistro | Cooler Weather.

One thought on “Pumpkin Pie

  1. I forgot to mention – a sugar pumpkin typically yields about 3 cups of puréed pumpkin so is enough to make 2 pies. Try to select one which feels heavy for it’s size. From the 3 I baked in the pictures above I have just under 10 cups.

    Like

Leave a Reply

