Thanksgiving Leftovers – Round 2

I didn’t post Round 1, as that was just the basics on Friday: put together a plate of what you had on Thursday and reheat. It isn’t glamorous and there is a point when your are done with Thanksgiving dinner. 

Yesterday we had a bit of soup and a few snacks with the crazy football and soccer day that we had scheduled. Today, I started on how to reuse the leftovers so that we weren’t all sick of turkey by the end of the week. 

I started this morning with the stuffing; I’m not sure how but I had an entire untouched 9×13″ pan of stuffing. I placed ham into well-buttered cups of my muffin tin, and then pressed in the stuffing to form cups:

 
  
I baked these for 20 minutes at 375 and then cracked an egg in each one (large is perfect, extra-large might overflow) and sprinkled with a touch of salt, ground pepper, and pepper jack cheese. I then continued baking for 12 minutes longer. 

  
  
Next time I would use a couple of strips of bacon rather than ham, but good nonetheless.

I continued my modification of leftovers with dinner. I was looking for a soup with sweet potatoes and came across this one for a Carrot and Sweet Potato Soup. This was just the inspiration I needed; we had roasted carrots too.

   
 
I began my soup by sautéing a diced onion in a couple of tablespoons of butter. Once they were soft I stirred in the leftover sweet potatoes and carrots (about 3-4 cups of each) along with a bit of white pepper, 3 cups of broth, and about 1 cup of water. I broght this to a boil and then simmered for about 40 minutes. At the end I simply hit it with the imersion blender and served with a dash of cayenne pepper. 

  

Leave a Reply

