Moroccan Chicken Wednesday

Over the years I have had to travel for work and one of my favorite benefits of this travel has always been that I get to try new foods. It it one of the many things that encouraged me to expand my palate and my pantry. I haven’t travelled as much frequently, but this desire has stuck with me. As I mentioned in my previous post, I returned this week to preparing menus. Skimming through Epicurious (have you figured out it’s a favorite site of mine) I came across this recipe for Moroccan Chicken. Artichoke hearts are among my favorite ingredients so it landed on the menu. I made a few changes for our benefit (seasoning the meat, canned versus frozen artichokes, and extra garlic). 

It would have easily fed 8, in fact I had so much leftover I elected to share it at work today. Not only was it well received at home, but it was also thoroughly enjoyed there.

My husband called on the way home and asked if I was making a salad and if I needed bread, “No, but if you are stopping to get bread, pick up stuff for a salad.” I must commend him, not only did he pick up stuff, he did some quick research online and decided what would go with the dish. We ended up with an olive baguette and a salad with spinach, Swiss chard, arugula, chickpeas, carrots, dates (which he’d never tried before), shallot, goat cheese, and fattoush dressing. It rivaled his mother’s salads, it was delicious and a perfect complement to the stew. 

   
 Moroccan Chicken Stew with Artichoke Hearts and Carrots

Prep 45 mins ∙ Cook 30 mins ∙ Makes 6–8 ∙ Source Bonappetit.com

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 onions, chopped
  • 8 garlic cloves, large, minced
  • 1 tablespoon ground coriander
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric
  • 4 cups low-salt chicken broth
  • 1 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest
  • 2½ pounds skinless, boneless chicken breasts, cut into 1″ cubes
  • 2 (14 oz.) cans artichoke hearts
  • 1 pound carrots, peeled, sliced
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • Steamed couscous
  • Chopped flat-leaf parsley
  • Salt & pepper

  

DIRECTIONS

Lightly salt and thoroughly pepper the chicken.

Heat oil in a large heavy pot over medium-high heat. Add onions and sauté until tender and starting to caramelize, about 8 minutes. Stir in garlic and next 4 ingredients and cook until fragrant, about 1 minute.

   
 Add broth and lemon zest and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium; stir in chicken, artichoke hearts, and carrots; simmer until vegetables are tender and chicken is just cooked through, 10–15 minutes.

   
 Season to taste with salt and pepper. Divide couscous among shallow bowls; spoon stew over and garnish with parsley.


Middle Eastern Salad

Prep 10 mins ∙ Makes 4

INGREDIENTS

  • 5 oz. mixed greens (i.e., spinach, arugula, and swiss chard)
  • ~1 cup shredded carrots
  • handful of mint leaves
  • ~1 cup chickpeas
  • ⅛ cup dates, diced
  • 1 shallot, thinly sliced
  • 4 oz. goat cheese, crumbled
  • fattoush dressing, to taste

DIRECTIONS

Toss all ingredients together, serve with dressing.

Leave a Reply

