Stuffed Peppers

I am sad today… I wrote most of this post yesterday, and was falling asleep so I decided to finish it today… and missed the step to save.

Such is life. As you may have guessed, I’m not your normal “food blogger”. I don’t have an inspiration to work and work and work on a recipe until it’s perfect and post it. My goal is to read, fix, test, and share recipes for good food so that more people realize that cooking is not difficult or a mysical art. Cooking for me is wonderful, it relieves my stress, and more importantly it keeps me and my family healthy.

Back to the post…

Stuffed peppers are a childhood memory for both me and my husband, for him it’s a bit less than fond. However, as his tastes have grown he recently suggested that I make them. This led to further discussion since our eldest is less than fond of bell peppers. Ultimately he suggested that I stuff poblano peppers. So I read a lot and ended up with 3 recipes that I combined. (Note: When you see my pictures, I doubled the recipe so that I would have enough for tacos on Wednesday.)

Since I spent most of my day in the ER with my youngest (bruised but not broken ribs from lacrosse), I can verify that I made this and a salad in 2 hours. Sadly I had to forfeit Sunday dessert; it will come later.

My eldest was a huge help with the prep and the cornbread.

 

Spinach, Brussel Sprout, and Bacon Salad with Avocado Vinaigrette

INGREDIENTS

  • ½ lb. fresh Brussel sprouts, thinly sliced
  • 4 strips bacon or pancetta, diced
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 avocado
  • 1½ tsp. white wine vinegar
  • Juice of ½ lemon
  • sea salt
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • 5 oz. handfuls of fresh baby spinach
  • ½ cup bean sprouts
  • 4 ounces mushrooms, sliced

DIRECTIONS

Cook the bacon until crispy and drain on paper towels.

Cut the avocado in half, remove the pit, and scoop out the flesh. Place half of the avocado in a small food processor and process to form a paste. Add the vinegar, lemon juice, salt, and pepper and process well then add the olive oil and process briefly to combine.

Dice the remaining half an avocado.

Toss the spinach with the Brussel and bean sprouts, mushrooms, and avocado, then toss with the dressing and serve with the bacon.

Chorizo Stuffed Peppers

Entrées, Pork, Shellfish, Tested and Approved!

Prep 45 mins ∙ Cook 20 mins ∙ Makes 6 (Serves 4)

INGREDIENTS

  • 6 large poblano peppers
  • 1 small red onion, minced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons canola oil
  • 1 pound raw Mexican-style chorizo, removed from casings
  • 1 cup cooked rice
  • ½ lb. shrimp, peeled and deveined, coarsely chopped
  • 15 oz. black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 6 oz. shoepeg corn, drained and rinsed
  • 1 medium roma tomato, diced
  • 3 tablespoons tomato paste
  • ⅓ cup fresh cilantro, finely chopped, plus more to garnish
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • ½ tsp of cumin
  • 1 cup jack cheese, shredded
  • 1 cup cotija cheese, grated

DIRECTIONS

1. Line a rimmed baking sheet with foil and place the peppers on top. Roast them under the broiler until the skin becomes blackened and bubbly, turning every few minutes to char evenly, about 8-10 minutes. After the peppers have roasted, carefully transfer them to a large bowl and cover the bowl with plastic wrap. Let the peppers sit for 20 minutes to cool.

2. While you wait for the peppers to cool, heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Saute the chorizo for about 5 minutes, gently breaking it up with a wooden spoon.

 Stir in the onions, black beans, shoepeg corn, and garlic.

 Cook for 2-3 more minutes. Then, mix in the shrimp, tomato paste, oregano, and cumin. Cook for 2 more minutes. Transfer to a large bowl.

3. Add rice, tomato, cilantro, and ½ cup of each cheese to the bowl with the meat mixture and mix until combined.


  4. Carefully peel the skins off of the roasted peppers, and then slice the peppers lengthwise on one side to create a slit.

 Gently remove the seeds, and then spoon the mixture into the cavities of the split poblanos and place them on a baking sheet, split side up. Pull the pepper up around the filling and press gently to help it keep its shape. If necessary, use a toothpick to hold the peppers together near the bottom. Top with remaining cheese.


 5. Put peppers back under the broiler for 2-3 minutes, or until cheese is completely melted. Sprinkle with additional cilantro and serve.



Leave a Reply

