Make-ahead Sandwich

Once again, I considered writing up Sunday dinner, but I have to go to a specialty shop to find tamarind paste, so I thought it would be a better option to talk about the other meal that I made this weekend. While most of us are familiar with making sandwiches the night before for school lunches, it’s good to know that there are some sandwiches that get better if you make them in advance instead of just soggy. 

During soccer and lacrosse seasons we thrive on sandwiches that can be prepped in advance in some way. This particular sandwich is one that is better if you make it the day before and it is equally good served cold and room temperature. 

The ingredients are fairly simple, and for a shortcut you can purchase an artichoke tapenade in addition to the olive tapenade or you can make your own olive tapenade for a complete home-made taste. 

On Sunday, I mixed it up a bit based on what I had onhand. I started with the artichoke spread.  

  

The ingredients are chopped in order and then mixed well together in a bowl.   
 And the olive tapenade; I made a few extra sandwiches so I mixed Kat Kora’s tapenade with my own. (My tapenade is a mix of olives (some garlic-stuffed), a sun dried tomato, basil, oregano, and red-wine vinegar.)     

   And then I sliced the fresh mozzarella; it’s best to let it drain.     

 
From here I moved to sandwich prep. I used rolls that were ~4×4″ today, but I’ve also used small loaves and large loaves.   

Each of these gets about a ½ cup of the artichoke spread.    
Which is topped with mozzarella.  
And then salami and the olive tapenade (~2T.). 
  
  

And the best part, I wrap them in Saran wrap and eat them later. My husband and I split one, but the boys eat a whole sandwich after all of their activities. They pack well in coolers and are truly best the next day.  

Artichoke, Fresh Mozzarella, And Salami Sandwiches

Entrées, Sandwiches, Tested and Approved!

Makes 4 sandwiches ∙ Difficulty Easy ∙ Source Bon Appétit | August 2003

INGREDIENTS

  • 28 ounces artichoke hearts, drained, chopped (2 cans of 8-10 hearts)
  • 1/2 cup sun dried tomatoes, packed in EVOO, chopped, drained (oil reserved)
  • 3/8 cup Parmesan cheese, freshly grated
  • 1/8 cup Romano cheese, freshly grated
  • 1/2 cup basil, freshly chopped (large bunch – this is the quantity of chopped basil)
  • 2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil, from tomatoes
  • 4 ciabatta rolls, split in half lengthwise
  • 12-16 ounces fresh mozzarella, water packed, drained, sliced
  • 8 ounces peppered salami, thinly sliced
  • 8 Tbsp olive tapenade (green or black), (Kat Kora’s is good!)

DIRECTIONS

Chop artichoke hearts and tomatoes with oil in food processor; transfer to bowl. In same processor bowl, chop basil, then add to artichoke mixture. Mix in cheeses. Season to taste with salt and pepper. 

Divide artichoke mixture among bottom halves of rolls. Top with cheese, then salami. Spread top half of each roll with 2 tablespoons tapenade. Place atop salami. Press sandwiches lightly to compact and wrap each tightly in plastic wrap. Refrigerate sandwiches at least 4 hours and up to 1 day.

Leave a Reply

