No Recipe Grill

We spent Father’s Day at my in-laws playing in the pool. Knowing this was the plan I did a quick trip to the grocery store for grillables. I was planning on surf and turf with shrimp and flank steak, but whole beef tenderloin was cheaper per pound so I decided on that instead. I made coarse cubes with all of the trimmings and froze several 4-6 ounce filets. The trimmings I seasoned with olive oil, salt, and pepper. The shrimp went into a separate bowl with juice of 2 limes, a couple cloves of garlic, ~⅓ of a seeded Serrano, and olive oil.


Before cooking I shucked the corn and put olive oil, salt, and pepper on green onions, zucchini, and potatoes.


The potatoes went in the grill first over high heat for about 20 minutes.


Once the potatoes were tender I moved those up and put the zucchini and corn on the grill.


With good grill marks on the zucchini I pulled off the veggies and put on the proteins.


They only took about 5 minutes; and the onions that I added last only took 2.


Earlier in the day I made a herbed garlic olive oil; when the oil is hot I added a couple of smashed cloves of garlic and cooked it until golden, then I removed it from the heat and added chopped basil, mint, and chives.


I grilled pita bread just to get grill marks and then brushed them with the oil and ground on coarse salt.


Perfect dinner.


Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there.

Leave a comment