Beef and Barley Soup

Due to a grocery shopping error I have a lot of barley on hand, so I have been thinking of what to do with this abundance.

As I did my planning for this week, I opted against our usual Monday night pizza in favor of beef and barley soup so that I could avoid the mad rush for pizza on Halloween night. I looked up several recipes and couldn’t find one that I liked. Many of them looked bland, appeared to skimp on the meat, or in general didn’t look hearty.

So I picked up what looked good and set myself to making something I would enjoy. I gathered my ingredients (ignore the tomato paste I grabbed in my photo-taking haste and pretend it’s garlic).

fullsizeoutput_b94d

I started by prepping my vegetables (mainly so that I could use my favorite knife for all of my chopping). I chopped the onion with my food processor so that I didn’t have watery eyes.

And then I peeled and sliced the parsnips and carrots.

And sliced the celery.

Dried mushrooms (morel and porcini) caught my eye, but it’s important to remember that they are still dirty. I brushed them hard to remove the dirt, and then cleaned the board and chopped them to use as a coating on the beef.

I also used a mix of fresh wild mushrooms, that I rinsed well.

img_5766

Last, I trimed then cubed the beef. I prefer meat in soups to be very lean so that you don’t bite into anything tough. Once I cleaned it, I seasoned it with salt and pepper, then my chopped dried mushrooms (unfortunately forgetting to take the picture with the mushrooms).

I started with the mushrooms, mincing the garlic into them and cooking them on medium high heat until they were golden.

I set the mushrooms aside and browned the beef.

img_5773

Then I set aside the beef with the mushrooms and set to cooking my vegetables. I seasoned them with pepper and added the sprigs of thyme. I continued to cook them about 5 minutes until the onion was just tender.

Before returning the beef and mushrooms to the pan, I deglazed it with about ½ cup of the broth.

img_5778

Then I returned the beef to the pan and added in the broth, bay leaf, and finally the barley.

img_5779

img_5780

img_5782

I combined it all and brought it to a boil before reducing the heat and allowing it to simmer for 1½ hours.

img_5783

img_5784

It was really tasty and exactly the consistency and flavor profile I was hoping to have.

Enjoy!

img_5785

img_5786

Beef-Barley Soup

Prep 30 mins ∙ Cook 1 hr 30 mins ∙ Makes Yield: 6-8 servings ∙ Difficulty Easy ∙ Source Shannon Stacey

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup onion, chopped
  • 3 carrots, thinly sliced
  • 3 stalks celery, thinly sliced
  • 3 parsnips, thinly sliced
  • 8 ounces mushrooms, mixed
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 pounds boneless chuck roast, trimmed and cut into ½” pieces
  • a few dried mushrooms, brushed very clean and finely chopped (optional)
  • 4-6 sprigs of fresh thyme
  • olive oil
  • salt & pepper
  • 8 cups beef broth
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 cup uncooked pearl barley

DIRECTIONS

Heat the olive oil in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat. When hot, add mushrooms and garlic, cook until golden, then set aside.

Salt and pepper the beef, then sprinkle the chopped dried mushrooms on the beef. Add beef to pan; cook until browned, stirring frequently, then set aside with the mushrooms.

Add the onion to the pan, followed by the carrot, celery, parsnips, and thyme sprigs to pan; season with pepper and cook until the onion is translucent. Add about ½ cup of broth to the pan to deglaze the bottom, then return the beef and mushrooms to the pan. Add in the remainder of the broth with the bay leaf and barley.

Bring the soup to a boil, then cover, reduce heat to low and simmer for 1-1½ hours or until beef is tender and barley is cooked, stirring occasionally. Discard bay leaf and thyme sprigs.

Paprika Recipe

Leave a Reply

