Football Food

My husband saw this video on Facebook and recommended it as good food for watching bowl games. I decided it was most of a good recipe and went with it. 

I got out most of my ingredients (managed to forget to put the Doritos and paprika in the pic). And started chopping my vegetables. I had already decided that I wouldn’t bake my filling, I don’t for fajitas… I started with the onions, and while they cooked I chopped the peppers and green onions. I added poblano peppers with the bell peppers for added flavor. 

  

    

  

Once the onions were soft, I added the peppers to the skillet with a bit of cumin for flavor. I only let these cook until the peppers just started to soften. While they cooked, I peeled my garlic and sliced then seasoned my chicken. 

  

  

I set aside the onions and peppers in a large bowl and then used my now nicely seasoned pan to sauté the garlic and once fragrant I added and cooked the chicken until it was just cooked through. 

  

  

I added the chicken to the vegetables and stirred them together with the lime juice. 

  

I layered the items in my cast iron skillet as the recipe indicated with a couple of modifications: Doritos instead of tortilla chips and salsa instead of tomatos. Amazingly it all fit!

  

    

  
  

  

I popped it in the oven as directed – perfect!

  

I served it with guacamole and sour cream.
Chicken Fajita Crunchwrap

Paprika Recipe File
Source: Inspired by Twistedfood.co.uk
INGREDIENTS

  • 2 red onions, sliced
  • 2 bell peppers, sliced
  • 2 poblano peppers, sliced
  • 3 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • ¼ tsp. cumin
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 lbs. chicken breasts, sliced
  • salt
  • 2 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. paprika
  • ⅛ tsp. cayenne pepper
  • ¼ tsp. ancho chili pepper
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 6 large tortilla wraps
  • 1 small tortilla wrap (or an additional large wrap)
  • 3 cups cheddar, grated
  • ~2-3 handfuls Doritos
  • 1 bunch green onion, thinly sliced
  • 2-4 tbsp. salsa
  • sour cream
  • guacamole

DIRECTIONS

Heat ~2 Tbsp. olive oil over medium high heat in a large non-stick skillet, when hot, sauté the onions until they are tender. Then, add in the peppers with ¼ teaspoon of cumin. Continue until the peppers just begin to soften then set aside in a bowl.

While the vegetables cook, season the chicken with salt, the remaining cumin, cayenne pepper, ancho chili pepper, and paprika.

In the same skillet, heat an additional 1 Tbsp. olive oil and then sauté the garlic until just fragrant. Add the seasoned chicken and remove from the heat when just fully cooked and stir into the vegetables with the lime juice.

Grease a large cast iron skillet with oil and lay down 5 of your tortillas, overlapping, in a flower formation. Put the smaller wrap in the center.

Layer 1½ cups cheese, half of the chicken mixture, and then the doritos. Flatten the doritos gently with your hand and continue to layer the remaining chicken mixture, green onions, salsa, and the rest of the cheese. Place a final wrap on top in the center and fold the rest of the wraps over. Bake for 30 minutes at 375°F.

Flip the crunchwrap onto a board; cut and serve.

Leave a Reply

