Prosciutto Pasta Rolls

One of the reasons I like to watch food TV is for inspiration. About a month ago my husband and I were watching an Italian themed Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives; one of the items they showed was a prosciutto pasta roll. I have tried to find that show to link it to no avail. The recipe looked good but slightly bland. It was simmered cream on the bottom of a baking dish and then lasagna noodles rolled up with sliced prosciutto and fontina. And then cream poured over the top, sprinkled with Parmesan and baked. You can tell from my description that something was missing. 

I scribbled some notes immediately and finally got around to trying it. 

Rather than just cream, I melted butter with 2 cloves of minced garlic until it was very fragrant. Then I added the cream and brought it to a simmer.



When I made my original notes I wrote that it would need either nutmeg or crushed red pepper; smelling the bubbling cream, I quickly decided on freshly ground nutmeg along with a bit of tomato paste. 


After a few more minutes of simmering I put a little in the bottom of the baking dish and set aside the rest.


I had set out a couple of square dishes to soak the pasta sheets. Once they were soft I layered each with Boar’s Head prosciutto piccolo (a more cost effective option since I used a pound), shredded fontina (I started with sliced based on the show and quickly decided that shredded was better), and sliced basil.


Then I rolled them up and cut them into ~1½” chunks and placed them in the baking dish.


When the pan was full, I poured the remainder of the sauce over the top and generously sprinkled the entire dish with Parmesan. 

I baked it at 400F on convection bake for 20 minutes. Although I was worried that it would be dry, the result was perfect and delicious. 



Baked Prosciutto Roll-ups

Paprika Recipe File

Entrées, Pastas, Tested and Approved!

Source Shannon Stacey (inspired by Triple D)

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 pound fresh egg pasta dough, or lasagna sheets, softened
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2 clove garlic, minced
  • 1½ cup heavy cream
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • ⅛ teaspoon grated nutmeg
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 pound prosciutto, sliced very thin
  • 1 pound fontina, shredded
  • ¼-½ cup basil leaves, sliced
  • Parmesan cheese, grated, for topping

DIRECTIONS

Melt butter in a small saucepan over medium heat, add the garlic and sauté until fragrant. Add the cream and bring the mixture to a simmer and reduce the sauce a bit, about 2-3 minutes. Add the tomato paste and the nutmeg; stir to incorporate. Continue cooking the sauce until it is the consistency of buttermilk, about 2 minutes. Spread a small amount in each baking dish. Set the remainder of the sauce aside.

To form the pasta roses:

On each pasta sheet, layer prosciutto, fontina, and basil, then roll the sheet up like a jelly roll and cut into sections, ~1½-2″ wide. Set in a single or individual baking dishes.

Preheat the oven to 450°F. Pour the remaining sauce over the pasta. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. Bake for about 15 minutes, or until a light brown crust forms on top. Remove from the oven; let rest for 5 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

