Reasons to Cook

This post is not so much about what I made as it is about why I made it. 

Today was special; and not because it was a holiday or Hallmark “______” Day. It was special because my eldest returned from France and my in laws returned from Florida. These are special people in my life, and I want to cook well for them. 

Each time I have travelled internationally my first desire for food is “normal”, meaning normal for my own routine. With this in mind I selected bold simple flavors that are typical in our house. 

Rather than a salad, a shishito pepper appetizer – pan fried and seasoned with lemon and coarse sea salt. 


And for dinner, skirt steak and roasted cauliflower with chimchurri sauce, along with green rice and one of our favorite wines, Kouros red


Lastly for dessert, triple chocolate cake. 


I hope that you treat your family with love and good food. 

Leave a Reply

