Red Pozole

I promised my sister another weeknight recipe. And this is certainly easy, the trick is it takes 2 hours to simmer. My son had a fundraiser for his lacrosse team on a night I had time to cook. The following day was karate with no time, so this was a perfect fit in the meal plan. 

I did all the work so that it could simmer while we were gone; the smell when we got home was amazing! We were already excited to have dinner the next day.

I saved this recipe a few years ago, and I’m very glad I did since the link I downloaded it from no longer contains the recipe. The recipe calls for either country ribs or pork shoulder, use a boneless pork shoulder if you are in a hurry, but otherwise the ribs add a unique element with a mix of loin and rib meat.

As usual, I gathered all of my ingredients.

And before cleaning the meat I used my cutting board and favorite knife on the veggies. The soup doesn’t end up hot, just flavorful, but the peppers can be hot; if you don’t want the residue on your hands, wear gloves to pull off the stems and shake out the seeds. 

The onion only needs to be coarsest chopped.

  

  
Then I seared the peppers in a hot dry pan and set them aside to cool. 

    

And when I could touch them I crumbled them into my blender and then poured boiling water over them to soften them. 

  

In the same pan that I roasted the peppers, I sautéed the onions and minced garlic.

    

When they were soft and nicely colored from the chili peppers, I added them to the peppers. 

  

Blending them to a purée, yielded a beautiful thick sauce.

  

I started to clean the meat while the onions softened, but had to stop a few times. Once you make the sauce it can sit while you finish cleaning the pork. You can see each had a wedge of bone in the middle; I used about 4.5 pounds of bone-in ribs to get 3 pounds of meat. 

  
I cooked the pork in 2 batches, each seasoned with cumin, salt, and pepper. 

  

When both batches were done I returned them all to the pan and added in the purée and chicken stock. (Hint: Use the chicken stock to rinse your blender.) Then add in the rinsed hominy and oregano. 

      

Once it came to a boil, I reduced it to a simmer and came home to this beautiful pot of soup. 

For toppings, I shredded a block of queso fresco and shredded a few radishes. 

  

  

When I finally got to taste it the following day with my cucumber G&T, it was perfect.


Warming Red Pozole

Soups Stews etc., Tested and Approved!
Makes 10 to 12 ∙ Difficulty Easy ∙ Source Epicurious.com | Food52 | February 2015

INGREDIENTS

  • 4 dried New Mexico chiles, stems and seeds removed
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 large onion, coarsely chopped
  • 6 cloves of garlic, peeled
  • 3 pounds pork shoulder or country style ribs, cut into ¾” cubes
  • 2 teaspoons cumin
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 2 cans hominy, drained and rinsed
  • Water

Toppings:

  • Cabbage, shredded finely
  • Radishes, sliced thinly
  • Limes, quartered for squeezing
  • Avocado, cut into small chunks
  • Tortilla chips or corn tortillas
  • Cilantro, coarsely chopped
  • Crumbled queso fresco or your cheese of choice

DIRECTIONS

Toast chiles in a dry pan over high heat for a few minutes until slightly browned. As you heat them, they should puff up, soften, and become fragrant. Remove from pan, let cool, and cut or tear roughly. Pour 1 cup boiling water over them to soften them for 15 minutes.

Add oil to a large, heavy pot and turn the flame to medium high. Add onions and garlic and sauté until onions have softened and colored. Remove from heat and add them to the blender with the chiles and their liquid. Purée until smooth.

Put pot back on high heat and brown the pork in two batches. Add 1 teaspoon cumin, salt, and pepper to each batch as the pieces brown. 

Add all pork back to pot along with chile liquid, chicken stock, oregano, and hominy. The liquid should completely cover the pork. (Add more stock if necessary.) Bring to boil then lower to simmer. Cover the pot and cook the stew over low heat for 2 hours.

While the pozole cooks, get toppings ready.

To serve: Ladle pozole into bowl. Top with cabbage, radishes, and any other toppings. Squeeze a healthy dose of lime juice into your bowl and dig in!

NOTES

This recipe was originally published on Food52 as “Warming Red Pozole”.

Leave a Reply

