Grad Party – Part 4

Only 21 hours before the party and I think we are set. I finally made it through 18 years of pictures, I had been delinquent for the past 10. But that’s not why you are reading this, today I finished the cole slaw. I did two quintuple batches and ended up with 3 full trays. I didn’t want to have the veggies around for long so my mom and I picked those up this morning: 10 heads of cabbage (9 green and 1 red), 10 bunches of green onions, and 2 lbs. of carrots. When we got home we cleaned them all and peeled the carrots. 

  

Then we went to work on slicing the green onions and shredding the the cabbage and carrots in the food processor. 

I placed each batch in my large bowl and added half of the dressing I made the other day. As always, I seasoned well with salt and pepper. Stirring was a little bit fun, but I managed to keep it all in the bowl. I followed it with the other half of my ingredients and ended up with 3 trays which are now in my MIL’s fridge since I ran out of space. 

  

My mother arrived yesterday to assist and also brought home-made rolls, ~17 dozen. She made them in large batches too and while time-consuming, it is simple to make good bread. The start is active-dry yeast, proofed with a bit of sugar and warm water until it’s frothy. This gets stirred into flour to make a sticky dough, then kneaded with even more flour until smooth. 

        

Then you let it rest to rise for about 1½ hours (still using the same bowl that she used when I was a little girl). 

  

After it’s risen you punch it down, let it rest briefly, shape it into rolls, and then let them rise again before baking them. 

      
I’m so excited to enjoy one of these with a bit of butter. 


I also have signs made, soda chilling, and they put up the tent today. I’ll have one more post tomorrow on the outcome, let’s hope the storms miss us!

Leave a Reply

