Dining at Disney – Flying Fish

There are many opinions about the food at Disney. It is always difficult to determine the quality of the review in absence of knowing the style of the reviewer. Since you have all (hopefully) enjoyed my recipes, I hope that you have a distinct understanding of my tastes.

When we go out to eat, I prefer it to be either outside of my realm of expertise or take an investment of time not always available to me as a working mom.

We tried Flying Fish years ago before the recent renovation. The renovation was completely worth it. The overwhelming smell of fish is gone, the ceiling is higher making the whole restaurant peaceful (quiet), and the bar is beautiful.

  
We started with a cucumber martini with harshly muddled cucumber and Hendricks gin. Definitely good if you are a fan of either cucumber or gin. I will be abusing my cucumber more when I make my Hendricks and tonic at home.

The semolina bread with nori (seaweed) baked in served with a house made créme fraiche butter sprinkled with sea salt was earthy and really good .

  

We ordered the wine before the lobster bisque arrived. A Pinot noir was recommended to go with both our octopus/sea bass/shrimp and salmon.

  

The lobster bisque must have taken hours to make, the color could only come from using the lobster shells to make the stock. It was perfect and I now have a request from my husband to perfect lobster bisque.

My husband and eldest selected the same meal with one key variation. My eldest is allergic to fish and they replaced the sea bass with 2 jumbo prawn. The octopus was the star; it was cooked perfectly with the prawn as a close second. My husband claims it was the risotto. I'm going to disagree, I tasted the grilled tentacle and it was perfection; another skill I have yet to master. (This has been on my list for awhile to master.)

   
My youngest and I each selected the salmon. (If you must choose, select the octopus; although our waiter Chris says the lobster pasta is the best item on the menu.) The salmon, cooked medium as recommended by the chef, was cooked perfectly. It was completed by the grits, that simply added a creaminess to the dish. The carmelized onions and grilled avocado were a treat with the salmon.


If you haven't tried it or if it has been awhile, please check out the Flying Fish if it is in your budget, it was appropriately priced for a top tier Disney restaurant. It clearly ranks with California Grill and Citricos.

Leave a Reply

